Every year at our Section Meeting we give nine awards. During the year, at various times, the member societies give awards and funding as well.

Contributions or achievements

  • Robert J. Weimer Lifetime Contributions Award - Contributions to the practice of the geosciences in the Rocky Mountains
  • RMS-AAPG Distinguished Service Award - Long-term beneficial service to RMS-AAPG
  • John D. Haun Landmark Publication - Publication of exceptional influence within the Rocky Mountain region
  • Outstanding Young Professional Award - Significant contributions  by an individual with less than five years of experience
  • Julie Lefever Memorial Award


  • A.I. Levorsen Award — Best Oral Presentation at the previous section meeting
  • Steve Champlin Memorial Award — Best Poster Presentation at the previous section meeting
  • Runge Award - Best Student Presentation at the previous section meeting

Teacher of the Year

  • Teacher of the Year Award — for a teacher in the Rocky Mountain Section area that exhibits excellence in teaching earth science and the understanding of earth's resources.

Award Nominations

As an RMS member, you are entitled to nominate candidates you feel worthy in each category for Contributions or Achievements. The awards for presentations are determined by the Awards and Judging Committee for each Annual Meeting. The affiliated societies of RMS nominate candidates for The Teacher of the Year Award.




Copyright © 2019 AAPG RMS. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.