Robert J. Weimer Lifetime Contribution Award

About the Award

Lifetime Contributions recognizes contributions to the practice of the geosciences and/or petroleum geology in the region of the Rocky Mountains. This award was first given in 2013. The Lifetime Contributions Award is similar to the national AAPG Sidney Powers Memorial Award, the AAPG's most distinguished award.

Previous Winners


Donald Stone may in fact be the person with by far the most published papers dealing with hydrocarbon reservoirs in the Rocky Mountain region; in the range of about two dozen with him as a single author. He was for decades on the leading edge in terms of sharing his insights into both the nature of the reservoirs and their structural and tectonic history. There is little doubt that these published contributions, which date back to 1966, were read by many members of the RMS-AAPG and helped inspire them to generate their own new prospects, some of which probably resulted in the discovery of new and commercial hydrocarbon reservoirs. In addition to Don's skills as a scientist and author, he generously donated his time and efforts to many geologic organizations active in the Rocky Mountain region. These include the AAPG and RMAG. As part of these efforts, he also organized and edited several books including the 1986 RMAG Symposium on the geology of northwest Colorado. Few in the Rocky Mountain geology community have been as technically motivated and as fruitful in sharing their knowledge as Don Stone. He is clearly deserving in receiving the Robert J. Weimer Lifetime Contributions Award.


Ronald Johnson is a research geologist with the Central Energy Resources Science Center of the U.S. Geological Survey in Denver, Colorado. Ron has more than 40 years’ experience with the USGS on diverse projects and with many significant contributions to our understanding of the geology and energy resources of the Rocky Mountain region. Ron is a widely recognized expert on the overall geology (stratigraphy, mineralogy, geochemistry, etc.) and resource potential of oil shale in the Green River Formation and led the assessment team charged with evaluating the oil shale resources of the Piceance, Uinta, and Greater Green River basins mandated by the 2005 Energy Policy Act. He has led multiple Green River field trips, served in leadership positions with the AAPG EMD Oil Shale Commodity committee, assisted with the technical program at several Colorado School of Mines Oil Shale Symposia, and acted as a consultant and good will ambassador to oil shale researchers in China and elsewhere. As part of this career he has done pioneering work on coalbed methane resources (Wind River Basin), tight gas sands (Uinta, Piceance, Wind River, Bighorn, Crazy Mountain, Albuquerque, and Raton basins), and unconventional lacustrine tight oil resources (Uinta, and Elko Lake basins). His award for the RMS-AAPG Robert J. Weimer Lifetime Contribution Award is supported by his USGS coworkers and other geoscientists, who have benefited from his tireless efforts to describe and interpret the stratigraphy and sedimentary geology of the Cretaceous through Tertiary petroleum systems in the Rocky Mountain Region.


Elizabeth Bartow Campen, in recognition of her lifetime contributions to the profession of petroleum geology, especially in regards to her support of the Montana Geological Society through leading field trips, mentoring many young geologists, supporting geology through public outreach, and being a leader of the Montana petroleum community. Throughout her long career, Elizabeth (Betsy) Campen has been an active supporter of the Montana Geological Society (MGS), serving in nearly every office including being elected the first female president of MGS. She also served AAPG in several ways: as AAPG Secretary, EMD secretary and as a Visiting Geoscientist. Betsy has always been active in passing on her knowledge and enthusiasm for the study of geology to others. She led numerous field trips, was involved in teaching children about rocks and presents an annual earth science award at the Science Fair. In addition, she has been active in the Yellowstone Bighorn Research Association which runs a field station in the Beartooth Mountains used for field camp. It is an honor to present Elizabeth B. (Betsy) Campen with the Robert J. Weimer Lifetime Achievement Award.


Donald F. Cardinal was recognized for his 50-plus years of service to the profession of petroleum geology. Much of his service was with the Wyoming Geological Association (WGA) and has included organizing field trips, running symposia, authoring numerous papers (more than 40), and editing several guidebooks. He has helped to develop many young exploration geologists in the Casper area. His accomplishments include the development of a stratigraphic model for the Minnelusa and Leo Formations published in the AAPG Bulletin, the publication of the WGA's 2014 Wyoming Stratigraphic Nomenclature Chart, and his water data compilation published in 1984: Water Resistivities: Wyoming and a Portion of South Dakota. As an exploration geologist, Mr. Cardinal has discovered or participated in numerous discoveries in Wyoming, South Dakota and Colorado.

Don Cardinal receives the award from Sue Cluff, RMS President.


Dr. Lehi F. Hintze, Professor Emeritus, Brigham Young University, recognized for his lifetime of contributions to the understanding of Utah geology.

Sharon Hintze accepted the award on behalf of her late father, Dr. Lehi F. Hintze. Bart Kowallis, professor at BYU and colleague of Lehi Hintze, assisted in the ceremony and RMS-AAPG President Elmo Brown conducted the presentation.


Dr. Robert J. Weimer, Professor Emeritus, Colorado School of Mines recognizing lifetime contributions to the practice of the geosciences and/or petroleum geology in the region of the Rocky Mountains.
2013 Award - Dr. Robert J. Weimer presented by RMSAAPG President Michael Vandenberg


Copyright © 2020 AAPG RMS. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.