RMS-AAPG Distinguished Service Award

About the Award

The Distinguished Service Award is presented to members who have distinguished themselves in singular and beneficial long-term service to RMS-AAPG, with emphasis on long-term and at the same time, meaningful service to the Association.

Previous Winners


Donna S. Anderson, in recognition of her many years of service in support of the Rocky Mountain Section of AAPG. Donna has served the geologic community and the Rocky Mountain Section in particular with her active service over many years. She served every office of the Rocky Mountain Section serving as President in 2004-2005, overlapping her tenure as President of the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists (RMAG). She also co-chaired the RMS meeting in 2008, was technical co-chair of the RMS meeting in 2014 and has served as the RMS's liaison to the AAPG executive board. AAPG has also benefitted from Donna's expertise and enthusiasm when she was the technical co-chair for the 2015 ACE held in Denver. In addition, she has served on the boards of the Energy Minerals Division, Division of Professional Affairs and the House of Delegates. Donna has a very strong ethic of giving back to her community, whether it's her local neighbors or her geologic colleagues. She has always had an attitude that you get back five-fold what you put into an organization. Along with her service, she brings an outlook of calm, optimism and practicality even when the situation is difficult. The Rocky Mountain Section of AAPG is honored to award Donna S. Anderson its Distinguished Service Award.


Dr. Steven Schamel (GEOX Consulting, Inc.) epitomizes what service is all about. He is presently ending his term as chair of the AAPG's Sections Committee where he instituted a communication system which has led to better collaboration between and improvement of the domestic sections within AAPG, including the Rocky Mountain Section. He also chairs the Energy Minerals Division's Oil Sands Committee. Previously, Dr. Schamel has served the Rocky Mountain Section and the profession in numerous capacities including President of the RMS-AAPG in 2006 - 2007. In addition to his contributions to the AAPG and to the Section, he was President of the Utah Geological Association from 2010 - 2011 and Chairman of the Society of Petroleum Engineers Salt Lake Petroleum Section from 2001 - 2002. As history shows, no matter the entity Dr. Schamel serves, he always strives to form a collaboration of stakeholders with an eye to increase the value of the association to its members.

Sue Cluff presents award to Steve Shamel.


Dr. Edward D. Dolly for his dedication to all of the members from all of the affiliated societies within the Section while serving as an officer and then RMS Advisory Council Representative to the AAPG.
Dr. Edward D. Dolly presented by RMS-AAPG President Elmo Brown.


Louis C. Bortz – long time RMS-AAPG member and Secretary/Treasurer of the RMS-AAPG Foundation
2013 Award - Louis C. Bortz presented by RMSAAPG President Michael Vandenberg

Copyright © 2017 AAPG RMS. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.