Runge Award - Best Student Presentation (WGA)

About the Award

The Runge Award recognizes professional and scientific excellence in the student papers presented before the RMS-AAPG annual meeting, with particular emphasis on creative thinking toward new ideas in exploration. Established in 1975, the award is made to the student presenting the best paper as judged by a committee established for evaluation of papers at each meeting. The qualifications of the author or authors is defined as follows:

  1. The paper was prepared during the author’s enrollment in a college or university.
  2. The abstract was submitted to the Section during enrollment or no later than one year following the end of the last semester of enrollment of the author.
  3. If more than one author participated on the paper, all authors must meet the above qualifications. The award is an engraved plaque which is presented to the recipient at the next meeting of the RMS-AAPG. The award is provided by John S. Runge, petroleum geologist, Casper, Wyoming.

Previous Winners


Runge Award is not awarded for meetings held in conjunction with the ACE AAPG meeting.


Elena C. Finley and Stephen A. Sonnenberg, both of Colorado School of Mines, for the presentation Permian Salt Dissolution in Silo Field, Laramie County, Wyoming.


2013 award presented in 2014 to John L. McFadden by WGA President Julie Lemaster. John L. McFadden Jr.,University of Colorado at Boulder; John L McFadden, Jr.*, Rex D. Cole, Matthew J. Pranter, Reservoir-scale Facies and Stratigraphic Architecture of the Middle and Upper Williams Fork Formation, Upper Philadelphia Creek, Douglas Creek Arch, Colorado


Alyssa Franklin, Colorado School of Mines; Alyssa Franklin & Stephen Sonnenberg, “Bakken and Three Forks petroleum development, production and potential, western Williston Basin, northeastern Montana”.

2012 Award presented in 2013 to Alyssa Franklin, by RMSAAPG President Michael Vandenberg


Sophie Hancock, Department of Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, CO for the presentation: In Situ Recovery: Hydrologic Aspects of Producing a Deposit with a Fault System


Sara M. Smaltz, Department of Geosciences, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO and Eric A. Erslev, Department of Geosciences, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO for the presentation: Structural controls on detachment folds associated with foreland arches: Beaver Creek Anticline, Wyoming


Daniel JK Ross University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC and co-author R. Marc Bustin for the paper titled Evaluating the Shale Gas Resource Potential in Western Canada


Hanna Ross, M. D. Zoback: Sub-Hydrostatic Pore Pressure in the Powder River Basin, Wyoming and Montana, and Implications for Re-injection of Coalbed Methane Produced Water

Copyright © 2017 AAPG RMS. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.