RMS Teacher of the Year

About the Award

The RMS-AAPG each year chooses a K-12 teacher of earth and resource science to represent the section in a competition held by the American Association of Geologists where the winner of the national Excellence in Teaching Award personally receives $3,000 and the winner’s school receives $3,000. In addition, the winner gets an expense-paid trip to the annual AAPG meeting to receive the award.

To qualify for the section award, a teacher needs to be nominated by their local affiliated geological society. So the first step is to go to the Affiliated Societies page and choose the society that represents your area. The society can then inform the teacher of that society’s requirements for competition.

If the teacher wins the local competition, his or her name is then submitted to the section for evaluation. A complete set of rules and forms for the national competition, found at http://foundation.aapg.org/programs/toty/index.cfm, are required for the competition both at the section and national levels. In addition to the cash award at the national level, both the section and most affiliated societies also provide a cash bonus to go with their awards.

The RMS-AAPG is pleased to have had half of all of the national AAPG winners come from the section in the last 18 years. This is possible only because the local affiliated societies actively search for, select and provide highly qualified nominees from their areas.

Previous Winners

YearNameSchoolLocationAffiliated society
2018 Deborah Morgan* South Sevier High School Monroe, UT UGA
2017 Julie Mitchell* Erie High School  Erie, CO RMAG
2016 Jill Bushaw  Century High School  Bismark, ND NDGS
2015 TBA
2014 Jacqueline D. Bath* Thunder Ridge High School Highlands Ranch, CO RMAG
2013 Debra K. Stiles Capital High School Helena, MT MGS
2012 Denece Lord Billings West High School Billings, MT MGS
2011 Jonna Gentry* Green Mountain High School Lakewood, CO RMAG
2010 No candidates submitted   
2009 Ty Robinson* Provo High School Provo, UT UGA
2008 Mary Fitts* Sierra Middle School Parker, CO RMAG
2007 Candace Penrod Hillside Middle School Salt Lake City, UT UGA
2006 Jim Schultz* Helena High School Helena, MT MGS
2005 Cheryl Mosier Columbine High School Littleton, CO RMAG
2004 William Christiansen East High School Salt Lake City, UT UGA
2003 Amy John* Tse Bit Ai Middle School Shiprock, NM NMGS
2002 Rebecca Kerr Heights Middle School Farmington, NM NMGS
2001 John McKinney* Castle Rock Middle School Castle Rock, CO RMAG

* also went on to be awarded the National


2014 Teacher of the Year Awardee - Jacqueline Bath

Copyright © 2019 AAPG RMS. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.